week of 10/26 market updates

Hey guys sorry couldn’t do a mid week update last week, started a new job and kind of burned out on all the Magic news. All the leaks ended finally with legal action and all the new Secret lair stuff it’s hard to keep up.

JUL208807 - MTG TCG COMMANDER LEGENDS DRAFT BOOSTER DIS ...

Preordering for 120 USD / 89,79 €

Prices seem to be falling due to a bunch of the cards being spoiled so early. This reminds me of when Iconic Masters was released. Also we are getting Commander decks with this release? Pretty weird since this isn’t a standard set and this would be yet another commander deck released this year. Haven’t looked at the spoilers yet but from what others are saying it doesn’t look great. I mean some players are happy with some reprints and new cards but it’s driving the preorder price down.

Eldritch Moon Booster Box at StarCityGames.com!

Selling for 220 USD / 154,99 €

Can’t believe Eldritch is over 200 bucks now. I guess people are hyped for when we return next year. But Shadows is still hovering at around 130. Which doesn’t make sense to me. I guess it really is sometimes a popularity contest with theses old sets.

Zendikar Rising Set Booster Box Preorders Now Live - The ...

Selling for 120 USD / 97,99 €

I don’t mean to keep talking about the Set boosters but it seemed like they are finally at their fair price now. Going forward I think with the cards in the List and the art cards this might be a good investment and a fun open since this is a very different product compared to the other sets. We have to wait to see if WOTC will be doing more of the Set Booster line but I don’t think so. I think this was a way to test the waters on a new booster. I think WOTC might just keep doing Secret Lair instead. I don’t think WOTC will continue since they would have to keep doing something about the List cards. They have a hard time doing the special frames as is. The Special frames in Core 2021 and Zendikar seemed very mediocre compared to Throne and Ikoria. I doubt Kaldheim will have box toppers.

MTG Unstable Booster Box (English) - Magic Products » MTG ...

Selling for 140 USD / 99,00 €

Still a good price, I don’t see this one going down any time soon. They did reprint the lands but that didn’t seem to influence the price of the original boxes at all. The VIP boosters pretty much are old news now. They don’t seem safe in my opinion. Especially since you can reseal them and they don’t have the WOTC logo on the plastic seal. Anyway Unstable should be good and a fine hold for the future and just like the other Un-sets should go up.

Magic: The Gathering Double Masters with VIP Collector Box ...

Selling for 290 USD / 236,85 €

Still doesn’t seem worth it to me. I rather just pick up the other master sets. The upshifting to rares on some of the cards didn’t feel worth it in this set. I think this might be the first time WOTC has done something like this before. They always downshifted the majority of the time. Up shifting Tarmogoyf to mythic made sense but Brainstorm and others to rare, not so much. And for this price I rather pick up Iconic masters since that will go up eventually and is more worth it.

That’s it for now, stay safe and thanks for checking out the post!

Leave a comment